Cloudy With a 100% Chance of Food Puns

(This is an older blog post that I’m migrating from my old blog on Blogspot)

It’s been a while since I’ve written.  My last post was really serious (can you detect my sarcasm?) so I thought that I would lighten things up because my wife and I were celebrating this week.

Why were we celebrating, you might ask.  Well there are several reasons.

  1. We managed to pay off all our remaining debt with our tax returns.  We didn’t have any substantial debt, and we haven’t made the plunge into home ownership yet, so it may have been a small and temporary victory, but it was a victory nonetheless.
  2. We had some wonderful days off from my job because of some inclement weather, which gave us an unexpectedly long weekend.  We took the opportunity to head off to visit relatives in Virginia.
  3. While in Virginia our relatives decided that they were going to use their tax returns to buy a new Blu Ray player.  Not having any need for their old Blu Ray player they graciously gave us their old one.  (Thanks again to Roz and Dan, if you’re reading this, you’re the best!)

We were previously using an older-ish model of this thing called a DVD player.  Maybe you’ve heard of them, they were all the rave a few years ago.

The DVD worked for us . . . for the most part.  The only problem with our late DVD player is that the remote got lost sometime in between moving from St. Louis to Utah to Maryland.  I hope whoever has it is enjoying it.  In all likelihood it is lost somewhere in my parents house, or was given to DI.  If the latter is the case, may it rest in peace rotting on that thrift store shelf.

After putting our DVD player to rest back in the box from whence it came we went out and got ourselves a Redbox film, Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2.  What’s funny is that we got our new BluRay player set up, but I’m pretty sure that we rented a DVD. . . . One day we’ll do this whole Blu Ray thing right. . . . Baby steps, we’ll get there.

My wife and I really liked Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs.  It was a funny movie. . . .  ‘Nuff said.

Cloudy 2 was different though.

In lieu of giving you a detailed review of the film let me just sum it up for you, if you haven’t already seen it (very unlikely, but I’ll go for it anyway):

Cloudy 2 took all of the funny gags and jokes that they used in the first film and used them again.

They introduced a lame villain; no depth, too predictable.  He started out as Flint’s childhood hero, and within five minutes it became apparent that he was the villain set on pitting Flint against his own friends.  Blah, blah, blah, an hour later you’re watching the ending thinking “I totally knew that it was going to end this way”.  Kinda lame.

Kids shows are frequently obvious, I get that.  Unfortunately that wasn’t the deal breaker for me. What did it for me was the endless food puns.  And the villain . . . but mostly the food puns.

They’re on an island with sentient food, “Foodimals” as they call them.  It was the perfect setup for food jokes.  The puns were endless.  If they weren’t mashing food names with dinosaur names (Taco-don Supreme anyone?), they were punning up a storm.  It got old after about five jokes.  Towards the end I was just rolling my eyes with each new food pun.  Cloudy 1 had some food jokes, but it wasn’t to the extreme like in Cloudy 2.  It was silly.

Besides the food puns the story just moved along too quickly.  The characters didn’t feel developed.  I couldn’t relate to them.  I didn’t feel connected with them.  I didn’t love them.  I know it’s harsh, but it’s true.

You might say that I’m being too critical, that it’s just a kids show, an animated cartoon.  Well, you’d be right, I’m pretty harsh.  But imagine if I told you that it was a wonderful film, filled with spectacular jokes, well scripted characters, and a plot that will have you watching it over and over again.  Well, that would be a lie, and you’d never read my reviews again.  So I’d better stick with the truth and hope that you can at least agree partially with my critiques.

To sum it up:

On a scale from “Buy The Collectors Edition” to “Redbox it“, this is definitely a Redbox movie. Unless you’re buying for your little kids, and you don’t mind that they may watch it 5 billion times before they’re 4 years old (you know how kids are), it’s probably not worth the money.

P.S. One day I’ll actually get a real Blu Ray to watch on our player . . . I promise . . .

Leave a Reply

