Bayonets to Bassinets

I wrote this little poem/song back in 2013. I guess I should just call it a poem because I never really turned it into a song, although that was the original idea.  
I often intentionally say “bayonet” instead of “bassinet” when talking with my wife about babies and what crib-style we should use with newborns. It’s supposed to be a funny play on words, but when I started writing out the poem it didn’t turn out very humorous as I was trying to rhyme. But as I finishing it up editing it, I found that I like it the way it is.  

It wasn’t doing me any good sitting in my Evernote folder for the last 2+ years, so I thought I would share it out and see what people thought. 

This, I think, will be the first time that I’m publishing one of my own poems.  Poetry is kind of uncharted territory for me, I don’t really do poetry much.  Let me know what you think in the comments, or let me know if you have any suggestions. 

 

Bayonets to Bassinets



Bassinets to bayonets,  

In a world of deep regrets 

We often stop to recollect 

Friends and foes in retrospect.
We run, we fight and then forget 

The price we paid for innocence. 

This place where love and hate arrest 

Is what drives our mad conquest.
To fight, to love, to make amends, 

To ease the pain our words portend. 

To flex, to lie, to war again, 

We fight, we love, our words are dead.
From Bayonets to bassinets 

In a world of deep regrets, 

We often stop to recollect 

Friends and foes in retrospect.
 

Leave a Reply

