Car Hunting and Cars in General

Hunting for Cars is not for the faint of Heart

My hat is off to all those out there who excel at all things cars. Total respect is deserved to those who understand car things, and engines, and who like that sort of thing.  

I am not one of those people.  

For me, cars are a necessary evil. They cost money to buy. Then they break and they cost money to fix. They cost money to maintain, and to feed with their expensive fuels.  

They are stressful to me. Maybe I’ll be able to get over that if cars and I spend some more time together. But I get the feeling that even if I spend some significant time beneath the hood of a car getting familiar with its innards that I will still find them stressful.  

Why can’t someone just design a car that just . . . You know, works? A car that is designed to last with no serious malfunctions for a determined period of time or mileage and is reasonably priced. And while you’re at it, could you fix this whole global warming thing, and maybe throw in a dash of world peace? If you have some time, you know, at your leisure. 

“Oh, you mean you want a new car” You might be saying to yourself. Well, no I don’t want a new car. Those things are ridiculously overpriced, and depending on a lot of different factors they may not be any more reliable than buying something made 20 years ago (believe me, I’ve known people who bought new cars and ended up taking them right back to the dealer 3 days later).  

So I buy used cars. It brings its own set of challenges and trade offs. It brings its own set of stresses as well.  

It’s stressful to go out looking for cars knowing that you need to make a decision soon, but you also don’t want to buy something that’s crap. So you may spend hours looking at cars and come home after with nothing to show for it.  

That happened tonight. We went looking at cars all night but ended up not buying any of them. And this whole time my wife’s stress levels are rising because she is without a car at home, and we both are getting stressed because I want to be done with car shopping as well, but at the same time we don’t want to overpay for a car when we could just wait a little longer and get a better deal later.  

I don’t know if there is a lesson or moral to this story. Mostly I’m writing just to write, and I’m posting just to post, so take what you will from this. I’m not even sure that there is anything that you can “take” from this other than knowing that I’m frustrated and tired of car hunting.  

I guess the silver lining here is that I have awesome brothers who take hours out of their day to help me car hunt so that I don’t buy some piece of junk that seemed “good enough” to me, but is really a wolf in a Suburban’s clothes.  

Well, I won’t let this drag on any longer. I bid you adieu, and may your cars treat you all well, and may your car searches be more fruitful and wonderous than mine.  

Farewell, until we meet again car search! . . . 
. . . To be continued . . . Likely on Saturday.   

2 thoughts on “Car Hunting and Cars in General

Leave a Reply

