Morning People

Becoming a morning person is not a lot of fun. If you haven’t convinced yourself that you don’t want to be a morning person by the end of that first morning, then you just wait until the second morning. You’ll give up pretty soon.

To become a morning person you need to change two habits just to be able to establish one. You need to get out of the habit of going to be bed late or watching TV until late at night, and replace it with an early-to-bed habit. And you need to change the habit of getting up late with the early-to-rise habit. But going to be bed early doesn’t gain you much utility in life without getting up early, so it’s kind of a pointless habit unless you actually do get up early. So, you get rid of two habits, but only get utility out of one of the habits that you replaced them with.

The hope is that you’ll be able to achieve more in those early hours of the morning.

My problem currently is not the waking up part of the equation. I can wake up, or I can wake my body up. I go a on a little walk, the cold air chills my body awake. But my mind is a stubborn beast. My mind, even after walking for 10 minutes in the ice-cold January air, is still sluggishly sloshing through the motions. I’m writing, but not particularly creatively. This is starting to feel like one of those anti-self-help blog articles that I see every-so-often on the internets.

I’ve been awake for long enough that my mind should be catching up to my body. But as I sit here in my warm house, just having eaten my cold cereal, I find myself wanting to drift off to sleep again. I got up this early in the first place so that I could write for a longer period of time and get more done, but now that I’m awake all I really want to do is to go back to sleep.

Being a morning person is just not that fun. It sucks. But it’s the only way that I can fulfill my goals. My lunch time is too inconsistent of a time to write. Depending on what I have going on at work, it just doesn’t work out that well. And after work is dicey. Depending on how needy my kids are, and how late they go to sleep, I may never feel like writing. Just getting the kids ready for bed is a Herculean effort at times, and by the time they’re in bed I either want to shut my mind off for a while or go to bed myself. And if I keep on getting up so confoundedly early, I will almost certainly just want to go to bed when they do.

Surprisingly my walk didn’t take as long as I was expecting. And my scripture study and writing session didn’t take that long either. I’m sitting here at 6:45 AM wondering how I managed to take a walk, eat breakfast, and write 500 words, all in 45 minutes. Maybe being a morning person isn’t so bad after all. I mean I still just want to fall over and sleep on the next soft thing I see, but I managed to accomplish a lot in a relatlively short amount of time.

Maybe this whole morning person routine won’t be so bad after all. I don’t think I’m going to get anything done on my other writing projects this morning (you know, the ones that I actually woke up to work on), my mind is just not waking up. In fact, I’m feeling it shut down right now. But I think with some practice I can get this whole morning person thing down. . . . Or at least to the point where I can do more than just complain about waking up. I mean, honestly, who wakes up at 6:00 just to complain to a word processor about waking up? Who does that to themselves? Me, apparently. But not tomorrow . . . maybe.

Leave a Reply

