Funky Knuckles – Funky Music to Brighten Your Day

Yes, it’s been quite a few months since I last wrote in my blog.  What can I say?  The muse had left me, inspiration fled, laziness set in, the force was not so strong with this one . . . whichever excuse suits your fancy, I just didn’t get around to writing in my blog.

To be honest, I think the break was probably good for me.  I’ve had a lot going on at work in my full-time and part-time jobs.  I’ve had some time to think and to reevaluate what I want to write about.

I wanted to write a short post today to make another musical recommendation.  With all of the work that I’ve been doing I’ve needed some music to keep me going.

In my full-time job my company recently moved offices.  The office is cool, albeit somewhat unfinished.  I now sit next to a group of sales reps who play “motivating” music (“motivating” to them, mostly annoying to me, because I’m a music snob.  I can admit it, I’m not ashamed.) all day long.  So I’ve been listening to a lot more music at work just to keep from having to listen to the endless sales motivation soundtrack going on in the background.

Today the music that kept me from nodding off, or losing my mind from the constant barrage of whatever-they-listen-to-over-there was the groove-filled music of Funky Knuckles.

Spotify recommended them, and they had such a great name that I couldn’t resist, I gave them a try.  I was definitely not sad that I did.  Hence the blog post.

They have such a nice groove throughout both of their albums.  Their music is fun, light-hearted, funky stuff.  There was enough variety throughout to keep me grooving through a long day of work, while also working really well as fun background music.  Of course, Funky Knuckles isn’t background music (like smooth jazz, Enya, or Kenny G), it’s great music, and it works really well as my own, personal motivational soundtrack.  A soundtrack that my musical snobbiness can tolerate, and that I can recommend to anyone who wants something with some good musicians to help get you through the workday.

Their arrangements are creative, they have a good chemistry, the solos are fun.  They just have a great, fresh take on fusing jazz, funk, and hip-hop together in a really hip way.

So, without any more of my poor descriptions, please enjoy some very groovy, Funky Knuckles music.  And, of course, let me know what you think.

spotify:artist:0uyK6faAhm4CYcf1OhP38V

Leave a Reply

