Someday

I watched a short video this morning. It was a compilation of part of Henry B. Eyring’s General conference talk (Elder Eyring is an apostle of my church, for those who don’t know). He was mainly talking about the danger of saying that “someday I’ll serve”, when what that really means is “not this day”. He was talking about serving the Lord and serving other people, but I also realized that I often say “someday” to myself when I’m talking about virtually anything that I want to do.

Someday I’ll take my wife to Brazil. Someday we’ll go to Europe. Someday I’ll write that book. Someday I’ll write and record some songs. Someday I’ll jam with friends.

In fact, I say that to myself a lot, and about a lot of things that I say I want to do.

I don’t have time to do all of them all at once. Maybe I don’t have time to write for 30 minutes every day. Maybe I have time to write for 15. Maybe I don’t have time to jam with friends every week, but maybe I could plan for once a month. Maybe I can’t write songs very often at home because of the kids, but maybe I can start jotting ideas down throughout the day and hash out the details later.

At the very least I can start doing things that I want to do, even if I don’t do them very well or very consistently, I can at least start to work on a consistent schedule.

If it isn’t scheduled it doesn’t happen, but also if I don’t adhere to the schedule that I set out then it doesn’t matter if I scheduled it in the first place. I need to find a way to set aside time, and to be accountable for seeing it through.

All I know is that if I keep on saying “someday” that day may never get here.

Leave a Reply

