To Write or Not to Write

(This is a post that I’m migrating over from my former blog on Blogspot.)

Writing in a blog is something that I’ve been wanting to do, and do more consistently for a while.

Writing that first draft is always the hardest, it’s much too easy to talk yourself out of writing at all.

I recently read an article on Fastcompany.com about this exact topic. Most of the advice was geared toward writing in business, but it was a good post.

There is one particular bit of advice that I wanted to write about. It was about overcoming the “blank page hurdle”, which is something that I’m currently working on.

The main take away that I got from the post was this quote:

“The trick to overcoming this isn’t easy, but it’s surprisingly effective: give yourself permission to write badly, and just start.”

In writing first drafts I often am too hard on myself. It doesn’t read like Tolkien or Robert Frost, so obviously it isn’t good enough. I really needed someone to tell me that’s it’s ok to suck when you’re starting out.

I think we all fall prey to the perfectionist attitude in so many aspects of our lives.  We think to ourselves that we’re not smart enough, talented enough, or whatever else we tell ourselves that convinces us not to do what we plan on doing.

The truth is that we rarely start out good at anything. The first draft is always just the beginning as we develop our ideas, just like the first practice of a sports season is just the beginning of progression; the first orchestra rehearsal of the semester is always the worst, and we shouldn’t judge how the final concert will sound based on how the first rehearsal went.

This blog is my way to “just start”. This is my way of pushing myself through the bad writing, the sometimes painful process of finding the right thing to say, and sometimes having anything to say at all. 

It is my resolution to fill this blog with great things, but first I have to begin with filling the pages with something, with anything.  I can only hope that of the many things that I plan on posting that some of it will be beneficial to whoever reads this. 

Leave a Reply

