A Thought for the Always Connected

I found the video below from Prince Ea about our “always connected” society.  I found it to be inspiring.  I think you’ll enjoy it as well.

We spend much too much time connected to devices and not enough time connecting with people.  It’s truly sad that many of our Facebook “friends” are not friends at all, but acquaintances that we no longer associate with nor think about.  We often portray our happiest, most fulfilled selves on social media.  All we see on Facebook is a constant stream of happy faces and happy statuses.  This is all fine, but we rarely portray our true and full selves online.  We can pick and choose who we want to be, what we want to portray.  In person we can’t always hide how we feel, it shows on our faces, happy or sad.  Online we pick and choose what we want to say, often editing out part of what makes us unique, part of what makes us . . . us.

I recently took some time off from social networking.  I deleted my Facebook app from my phone, I didn’t get on Twitter.  I probably checked Facebook once a week just to make sure none of my real friends were trying to reach me.  What I found now that I’m getting back on Facebook again is that I’m no longer interested in what people are posting.  The majority of it lacks substance, lacks personality, it lacks the intimate quality of speaking to someone face-to-face.

Social media is a perfectly great idea.  The ability to connect with friends online.  But it’s getting to the point where our online selves are becoming drastically different than our offline selves.  We promote the events in our lives like we’re promoting a company.  We broadcast the happy, smiling moments of our lives and get a shot of excitement when people “like” what we did.

Maybe it’s just me, but when I look retrospectively at the way I use social media I am sometimes driven by a desire to share part of my life with my friends, but many times I only share to get the likes.  I think that this is true of many people.

I’m trying to change this.  I don’t intend on disabling my social media profiles, I’m not that drastic (or maybe I’m still addicted).  But I am moving away from sharing things just because.  People don’t need a constant travelogue of my life.  I tend to call people more often now that I’m drifting away from using social media as much.  I tend to write more.  I tend to feel more creative and more active.  I am more involved with my family and my work.

Social media and technology are great, but I believe that “moderation in all things” should become the internet mantra.

 

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:(Proverbs 3:1)

 

Leave a Reply

